Tuesday, January 6, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Anticipated Debut Novels for 2015

  Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

Pam's List:
1.  The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.  Graceling meets The Selection?  Yes, please!
2.  The Sin Eater's Daughter by Melinda Salisbury.  An executioner who kills anyone she touches, engaged to a prince.  Sign me up!
3.  In a World Just Right by Jen Brooks.  A guy who creates alternate worlds at will?  Can't resist this one.
4.  The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey.  I know I shouldn't pay attention to comparisons, but this book is marketed for fans of Cassandra Clare and Leigh Bardugo, two of my favorite authors!
5.  The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi.  A contemporary I'm looking forward to, described as a fun, romantic story of first love.

And, if I hadn't already read it, An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir would definitely be on this list!

Sheri's List: One of my reading goals for 2015 is to read more books written by men or about male characters so all of my choices have a male voice.

1. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by BeckyAlbertalli. A contemporary story about a 16 year old "not so openly gay" boy trying to manage high school life.

2. Mosquitoland by David Arnold.  This is a story about Mim Malone who goes on an "American odyssey".
 
3. This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee. A reimagined Frankenstein!!!
4. Denton's Little Death Date by Lance Rubin. About a boy who knows the exact day that he dies and tries to live every day to its fullest despite his knowledge.
5. We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach.  Four high school seniors try to figure out themselves and their futures despite an asteroid heading straight to Earth.


What debuts are you looking forward to this year?

10 comments:

  1. Ooh, okay, so I already read Red Queen, and while it does have its good qualities, I don't think the Graceling meets the Selection comparison is accurate. Selection, yes; Graceling, no. Graceling gets compared to every fantasy novel, even though Graceling is much more character oriented and literary than the Selection. Anywho. Just thought I'd warn you.

    I'm really looking forward to the Girl at Midnight too. The synopsis reminds me a lot of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, even if it's compared to Cassandra Clare and Leigh Bardugo, and I heard that it just got a starred review in Kirkus, which is a really good predictor of whether I personally like books. So here's to hoping we both like it!!! (Leigh is also one of my favorite authors).

    Oooh, you liked an Ember in the Ashes? I must admit to being curious about that one, but I don't want to request another book for review, so o.o.

    Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is FANTASTIC, Sheri. It's definitely one of my favorites coming out this year. If you're looking specifically for debut with male voices, I think that you'll be pleased with that one. It's neither too feminine nor too sexual.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great list! I'm excited for quite a few of these myself! The Sin Eater's Daughter, The Girl at Midnight and Denton's Little Death Date are at the top of my list :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Sin Eater's Daughter, An Ember in the Ashes, and We All Looked Up made my list, too. There are some intriguing debuts coming out this year!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ooh just added This Monstrous Thing to my wishlist! Hadn't heard of that one, but it sounds awesome. Red Queen, The Sin Eater's Daughter and The Girl at Midnight are all ones I'm really excited for!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Because You'll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas, Magonia by Dahvana Headley, Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have only heard of a few of those. :) I really want to read Red Queen!

    ReplyDelete
  7. The Sin Eater's Daughter just popped on my radar and I was secretly hoping Scholastic would send my a copy (they surprise me sometime) because it sounds AWESOME. I am definitely looking forward to this one (among many others on this list...)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm definitely excited for The Sin Eater's Daughter, The Night We Said Yes, and Denton Little's Death Date. There are so many books coming out in 2015 that I'm already excited for. Why can't we all just sit around and read all day? Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  9. The Night We Said Yes and We All Looked Up sound so weird and interesting! I'm definitely curious about them. I just read Simon the other day and it is AMAZING. Loved it so much. Can't wait for everyone to read it!
    Great list, girl!

    ReplyDelete