Thursday, November 28, 2013

Book Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky Is Everywhere
Author:  Jandy Nelson
Publisher:  Dial, 288 pages
Publication Date:  March 9, 2010

From Goodreads:
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.


Review:
A wonderful novel about loss, grief, love, and hope.  I felt every single emotion Lennie was feeling along with her.  She is devastated by the sudden death of her sister Bailey and the only person who understands her grief is Toby, Bailey's boyfriend.  She starts a relationship with him but at the same time, she meets Joe, who she falls in love with.  Definitely a messy situation.  I felt so bad for Toby and Lennie and I completely understood why they turned to each other (they are both so lost), but at the same time I was cringing and it hurt thinking about Joe.  Joe with his constant smile...loved him so much.  His eyelashes.  Bat. Bat. Bat.  

I loved Lennie's grandmother and her uncle, who are eccentric and weird and wonderful.  Such great secondary characters.  And finally, I loved the notes and poems Lennie wrote about Bailey on anything she could and left everywhere.  And the ending...just perfect.  Highly recommend.


Posted by:  Pam

14 comments:

  1. I've heard awesome things about this one. I want to read it! Great review! Have a happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy Catching Fire!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So many people recommended it, and they were right. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and I loved Catching Fire! ~Pam

      Delete
  2. I always recommend this book to people when they ask me what they should read. Some people just don't get it how Lennie could date her dead sister's boyfriend but it had way more to do with grief than anything else some people don't understand that. It's a great book.
    BTW If you haven't read The Catastophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg I highly recommend it! It's also a novel about death and loss.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree, it was definitely about grief and being with the one person who she knew understood her loss. I haven't heard of that book, but I'll check it out, thanks! ~Pam

      Delete
  3. I'm one of those people when I love a book I want everyone else to love it too - this is one of those books for me. I adored it and it really makes me smile that you liked it too! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really did enjoy it. It was sad, but also filled with so much hope. ~Pam

      Delete
  4. I loved this book when I read it, it's just so unbelievably beautiful. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a beautiful book, the writing is gorgeous. ~Pam

      Delete
  5. This one sounds really good. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yay! So glad you loved The Sky is Everywhere- it's such a beautiful book. I loved the poems Lennie wrote, too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved how that all came together in the end. So unique, too. ~Pam

      Delete
  7. Wonderful review! I've been meaning to read this one for a while! Hopefully soon!

    ReplyDelete